About Robb Knight

I am the lead developer at Radweb working on InventoryBase and related products. I also work part-time as a developer for MacStories.

The RSS's url is : https://rknight.me/feed.xml

Please copy to your reader or subscribe it with :

Preview of RSS feed of Robb Knight

The Worlds of Podcasting

1970-01-01 08:00:00

ATP and the two different types of podcasts

EchoFeed

1970-01-01 08:00:00

EchoFeed is available to everyone

Link Dump #3

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Time for another link dump

Using the 8BitDo Keyboard on MacOS

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I setup the 8BitDo Keyboard to work as I'd like on MacOS

Ruminate is Joining MacStories

1970-01-01 08:00:00

As of episode 180, Ruminate is part of MacStories

We Need to Talk About Your Eleventy Post Dates

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Almost everyone using Eleventy is using blog post dates wrong

One a Month Club

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I've added a membership option to Buy Me a Coffee and joined the One a Month Club

Link Dump #2

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A selection of interesting links from my overflowing read later list

Things I Like: The Incomparable Back to the Future

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The Incomparable gave the Back to the Future movies the respect they deserve with an episode for each movie

Building a Mastodon Gif Bot

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Writing a script to run the @greatscott and @initech bots on beep.town

Fix Missing Distutils on MacOS

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A fix to a very annoying issue I encounted

QuickNote Alfred Workflow

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An Alfred workflow to quickly append text to a note

Some Alfred Workflow Updates

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A few updates and changes to my Alfred workflows

Using Eleventy to Gobble Up Everything I Do Online

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A blog post about how my site works based on a talk I did at the Eleventy meetup

More Things You Can Do on Your Website

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Adding more ideas to James' list of 83 things to do on your website

Notes on Buying a House

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My notes on the process of buying a house

How I Make a Podcast Episode

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A quick overview of how I record, edit, and release a podcast episode

Webmentions Redux

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I've rethought everything about how I show webmentions on my blog posts and switched to just showing syndicated posts instead

Three Months of The Johnny Decimal System

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Looking at my Johnny Decimal System three months into implementing it

Mastodon Webmentions and Privacy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some thoughts on the privacy implications of doing Mastodon-based webmentions

My Favourite Type of Time Travel

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A look at the different types of time travel plus my preferred method

Things I Like: Pizza the Action Seasoning

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A pizza seasoning I bought recently that I've been enjoying

Tech is Annoying Me This Week

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An incomplete list of tech things that are annoying me this week

Quick Thoughts on Crisps

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Crisps: My specialist subject that isn't Back to the Future

My First Mac

1970-01-01 08:00:00

It's the Mac's 40th anniversary so here's the story of my first Mac

Creating an OPML File for my Blogroll

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I'm creating OPML files for my blog, and pod, rolls so people can subscribe to all of the sites in one go

What Even is a Webmention?

1970-01-01 08:00:00

In which I try to explain what a "real" webmention is compared to a Mastodon "webmention"

Deleting S3 Files with Spaces in the Name

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An issue I came across at work deleting files that had spaces in the filename

Fetching Package Dependents from GitHub

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Using linkedom to grab all repositories that are depending on my post graph plugin

Snippets I Use Regularly

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A list of my most-used snippets in Alfred

A Birthday Poem I'm Sure Jason Actually Wrote and Didn't Get AI to Generate For Him

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I got a poem and a picture via email from Jason that he definitely lovingly made all by himself

Styling RSS and Atom Feeds

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some notes on how to style RSS and Atom feeds with XSLT stylesheets

Netcraft, Facebook, and Digital Ocean

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Facebook, via Netcraft, falsely reported a blog post of mine as phishing and Digital Ocean threatened to suspend my server

My Home Screen (January 2024)

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My iPhone home screen as of January 2024

New Old Posts

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I dug into the internet archives and imported a shedload of old posts

Making a Word Cloud for App Defaults

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I extracted all the words used in over 300 blog posts to make a word cloud

Creating Permanent and Temporary Redirects with Nginx

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to create redirects in Nginx

Roast Potato Recipe

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A delicious roast potato recipe

Letters with Kev Quirk

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I emailed with Kev during December as part of his PenPals project

Another Project I Forgot About

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A project I forgot to include in the first Knight club post

Welcome to the Knight Club

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The inaugural RSS club post

The Web is Fantastic

1970-01-01 08:00:00

No not that web. The real web.

Generating and Caching Open Graph Images with Eleventy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I'm caching my open graph images with eleventy-plugin-og-image instead of generating them on every build

Just 2023 Things

1970-01-01 08:00:00

2023 year in review

Puff Pastry Sausage Roll Recipe

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A very simple recipe for making delicious sausage rolls

Eleventy Post Graph Plugin

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Generate Github-style post distribution graph for your blog posts in Eleventy

Meta Doesn't Need ActivityPub to Slurp Up Your Data

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Thoughts on Meta adding ActivityPub to Threads

Subscriptions

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The current state of what services I'm subscribed to

Advent of Code 2023: Day Nine

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Mirage Maintenance"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Eight

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Haunted Wasteland"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Seven

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Camel Cards"

Smart Speed Broke My Brain

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I turned off smart speed for the first time in a decade

Advent of Code 2023: Day Six

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Wait For It"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Five

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "If You Give A Seed A Fertilizer"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Four

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Scratchcards"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Three

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Gear Ratios"

Advent of Code 2023: Day Two

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Cube Conundrum"

Advent of Code 2023: Day One

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My solution for "Trebuchet?!"

Crossover

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A spin-off project from DoubleShift: compare actor appearances from any two TV shows

DoubleShift

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A small idea to check how many actors have been in both Scrubs and Grey's Anatomy turned into a much bigger thing

Popular Pages with Eleventy and Fathom Analytics

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I'm using the Fathom API to show a list of popular blogs posts in my Eleventy site

Using SVG Sprites

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to use SVG sprites on your website

Pokédon: Read Mastodon on a Pokédex

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A Mastodon client in a Pokédex I built at a hackathon today

So Many Default Apps

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A look at just over two weeks of adding submissions and features to the default apps website

Using the Johnny Decimal System

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I finally found some time to dig into the Johnny Decimal system and reorganise all my files

Please, Expose your RSS

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I noticed a lot of people don't have a link to their RSS feeds on their sites or have the correct metadata for auto-discovery

App Defaults

1970-01-01 08:00:00

All of the apps I use as per the categories defined by Hemispheric Views episode 097 - Duel of the Defaults!

St Jude 2023

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A look at how much we raised in September for St Jude as well as all the japes that occurred

Add Full Screen Artwork to Your Podcast

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How (not) to add full screen artwork to the Apple Podcasts app for your podcast

I'm (Not) Building a Podcast Host

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Why I considered building a podcast host until I did the maths on the costs

Fundraising for St Jude

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I'm fundraising for St Jude this September as part of Relay's campaign

It’s Better in the App and Other Lies

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some thoughts on why there are so many apps when when in a lot of cases a good old website will do

Just Delete Me: Ten Years Later

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Ten years ago we launched JustDelete.me

Compiling CSS with Eleventy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A list of different options for compiling CSS with Eleventy

Block ChatGPT and other AI Bots with robots.txt

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to block ChatGPT from crawling your site with a robots.txt file

Three Years of Hemispheric Views Feedback

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I listened to ~70 hours of Hemispheric Views and wrote down all my feedback

Fix for Low Volume Exported Audio in GarageBand

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My exports for my new podcast were really quiet compared to other podcasts. Turns out GarageBand has a setting causing this

A Threads Thread Blog Post

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A thread about Threads that turned in a blog post about Threads

Custom Sidebar Icons in Finder

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Setting custom sidebar icons for folders in MacOS. Managed to get this working with a lot of trial and error

Building an ActivityPub Server

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I built Bugle, an ActivityPub server with Laravel and PHP. These are my notes on how it all works to the best of my understanding

The Biology of the Hey Bear Fruits Makes No Sense

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I've watched too much Hey Bear and wrote about how weird it is

Asset Lifespan Spreadsheet

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My asset lifespan spreadsheet

Brian Butterfield Diet Soundboard

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A soundboard for the Brian Butterfield Diet

One Year of Pizza Making

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Things I've learnt in a year or so of making pizza

The Knightpool

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The list of baby name guesses in the Knightpool

Food Graveyard

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Discontinued food that I want back

No More Ratings

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Why I'm not rating movies (or anything) any more

Add to MusicThread Shortcut

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A shortcut to add new tracks or albums to MusicThread

Notes on Migrating a Wordpress Site to Eleventy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some helpful notes and tools for migrating an existing Wordpress site to Eleventy

Additional Webmention Resources

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some more links and tools related to webmentions

Adding Webmentions to Your Site

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some notes on what webmentions are and how I implemented them for this site

Twitter Backup and Archiving Options

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Three different options for managing your Twitter archive

Letters with Jason Becker

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An idea by Jason Becker involving Jason and myself writing an email to each other every week for a month

Get Mastodon Account ID from Username

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The Mastodon API requires the account ID for making API requests

Everything Should Have an API: I'm Done with Closed Services

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I'm no longer willing to use services that don't allow me to access my data via an API or RSS

Web Scraping with Node and Cheerio

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A short tutorial on how to use Node and Cheerio to scrape some data from PSN profiles

Automating My Now Page

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I automated my now page updates

Navigate Project Folders with Pick

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Using pick to jump to a project quickly

Link Dump

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A selection of interesting links from my overflowing read later list

Bye Almanac, Hello Lantern

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Retiring my media blogging engine Almanac and launching it's spirtual successor Lantern

Import RSS to Micro.blog and Mastodon with Echo

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Echo is a node script to post new items from an RSS feed to Micro.blog

Blogs and Wikis and Links

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A brain dump of thoughts of how to handle links, wikis, and websites

Using PageFind with Eleventy for Search

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to use PageFind to implement search for an Eleventy site

Just 2022 Things

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A big list of things that happened in 2022

Building a Podcast Site with Eleventy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Moving Ruminate's site from Simplecast to Eleventy

Two Social Networks? In This Economy?

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Why I'm using Micro.blog and Mastodon

Prami's Challenge

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I attempted Prami's challenge and didn't even get close

ChatGPT and mySQL Database Schemas

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I tried ChatGPT for a common task and it worked pretty well

Lite YouTube for Micro.blog

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A plugin to automatically append Lite YouTube embeds to posts

My Office Setup

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My office setup

My Favourite Albums of 2022

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My favourite albums of 2022

How to Copy Gifs to Clipboard Programatically

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My futile attempts at trying to copy a gif to the clipboard programatically

Music Replay 2022

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My 2022 music replay from Apple Music

Importing Tweets into Micro.blog

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A script to import tweets from your tweet archive to Micro.blog

The "Best" Tweets

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My post popular tweets before Twitter dies

Year of Renovation

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Before and after photos of our house after renovation

Follow Mastodon User on Micro.blog Shortcut

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A shortcut to redirect to the correct follow page to follow a Mastodon user on Micro.blog

Fix for Bluetooth Audio Cutting Out on the Mac

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A fix for bluetooth audio cutting out on MacOS

Thoughts on Micro.blog

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My thoughts on using Micro.blog for the past two weeks

Get Safari Tabs Shortcut

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My MacStories Automation April entry

Save Bookmark to Micro.blog Shortcut

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A shortcut to save bookmarks on micro.blog

Building a PiSight

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My notes on building a PiSight

Monzo Pot Image Generator Version Two

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Updated version with more icons and options

The Intersect: My Personal Wiki

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Intersect is a personal wiki built with Eleventy

Calendar Events Alfred Workflow

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An Alfred workflow to manage calendars on your Mac

Reminders Alfred Workflow

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An Alfred workflow to manage Reminders on your Mac

Monzo Pot Image Generator

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Generate images for your Monzo pots

Game FAQs

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Before YouTube was the go-to place for game tutorials, GameFAQs was the best place for video game guides. I wrote one for Fifa Street on the PS2

Changing Your Name by Deed Poll

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I changed my name and there's some things that would have been good to know before I started

Convert a Spotify Account From Facebook to Email Login

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Despite what Spotify tell you, you can unlink your account from Facebook

My Home Screen (November 2017)

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My iPhone home screen as of November 2017

Notes About Setting up RetroPie

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some things I learnt (or want to remember) about setting up a RetroPie

Getting Closer to the Perfect TV

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I bought what I think is a near-perfect TV

Enable HDR with PS4 on Hisense H43M3000

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Enabling PS4 HDR on Hisense H43M3000

Jekyll Post Archive Grouped by Year

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Code Snippet for creating a post archive grouped by year in Jekyll

Thoughts on OnePlus 3 and Switching to Android

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My thoughts after just under two weeks with the OnePlus 3

Replacing Apps on Android

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The first step to switching to Android: replacing all my apps

Amazon Echo Initial Thoughts

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My initial thoughts on the Amazon Echo

Saving Money on Lego in the UK

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The UK lacks some of the stores the US have that are known for having good Lego discounts. This article outlines the methods I use to save as much money as possible when buying Lego.

Convert LXF to Bricklink XML

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to use Rebrickable to convert an LXF file to Bricklink XML format to upload to a wanted list.

Third Party Apple Watch Bands Review

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A review of some third-party replicas of Apple's watch bands

Game Controller Double Standards

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The new Apple TV supports game controllers which is great. What's not so great is the fact that developers can't require them.

Tips for Apple TV App Developers

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Some tips for marketing your Apple TV app successfully.

The Best Apple TV Apps

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I've started a new blog to highlight some the best and most interesting Apple TV apps available.

My Home Screen (September 2015)

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My iPhone home screen as of September 2015

New Podcast: Ruminate

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A new podcast by John Voorhees and myself

Manage Your LEGO Collection with Brickset

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Brickset is a great service for cataloging your LEGO collection. This guide will show you how to use all the main features to keep an up-to-date list of the sets and minifigures you own.

Simple Git Deploy

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A simple method to git push to deploy.

Remove Laravel Homestead Environment Variables

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to delete envirionment variables from Laravel Homestead.

Stig Quote Generator

1970-01-01 08:00:00

This morning, I was watching Top Gear and decided it would be fun to create the Stig quote generator.

UltraViolet: Everything is Not Awesome

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I tried to redeem an UltraViolet download code. It didn't go well.

Fix Gmail SMTP Offline Error in Yosemite Mail

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to fix Gmail SMTP showing as offline in Yosemite mail.

Apple Privacy Statement

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Apple issued a statement on privacy and government information requests.

Relay FM

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Myke Hurley and Stephen Hackett have launched their new podcast network, Relay FM

An Ode to Bionic

1970-01-01 08:00:00

An ode to Bionic. A poem made up of show titles.

How to Install iOS8 Beta Without a Developer Account

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How to install iOS8 beta without a developer account.

Thoughts on Google Chromecast

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The Google Chromecast has been released in the UK, so I had to buy one and try it out.

New York

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I visited New York for Christmas and New Year. Here are a few recommendations for place to visit, eat and drink

Create a Table in Markdown with No Headers

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Markdown doesn't allow you to create tables without a header by default. This little hack allows you to do that.

Parents: Take Some Fucking Responsibility

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The Telegraph reported this morning that two six-year-olds racked up a £1000 bill through in app purchases because they knew their parents iTunes password. And of course the parents are placing the blame entirely on the developers of apps that include in-app purchases.

Pub Hack #1

1970-01-01 08:00:00

The first Pub Hack took place yesterday and the theme was post-apocalypse.

Thoughts on the iPhone 5S and 5C

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Apple announced two new iPhones: The 5C and the 5S will be released on the 20th of September

JustDelete.me: One Million Page Views

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Just Delete Me was launched just 10 days ago and has already had over one million page views.

24 Hours of Just Delete Me

1970-01-01 08:00:00

“I’m sure I’ll get a couple of hundred visitors”. That’s what I was thinking yesterday when I launched justdelete.me. I wasn’t completely wrong.

Just Delete Me

1970-01-01 08:00:00

After seeing a few tweets about how difficult it can be to delete your Skype account and then hearing that Netflix flat-out won’t delete your details I decided to build JustDelete.me.

How PF Meet Helped Me Get a Placement

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Portsmouth Freelancer's Meet is a monthly meetup and I was able to get a placement through the people I met there

Lego Back to The Future Set Review

1970-01-01 08:00:00

My review of the fourth Lego Cuusoo set, Back to The Future.

Instapaper Beta

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Instapaper has a new beta version of the website

Automatically Rename TV Shows with Hazel and TVNamer

1970-01-01 08:00:00

How I'm using Hazel and TVNamer to save a ton of time renaming files

Hold Alt When Resizing to Center Windows on OS X

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A quick tip for resizing windows on OS X

70Decibels and 5by5

1970-01-01 08:00:00

70Decibels is merging with 5by5

Google Reader and Alternatives

1970-01-01 08:00:00

Google Reader is shutting down so I had a look for some alternatives

DIY Game Controller Rack

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A quick and dirty solution to storing all my game controllers

I am a Tool

1970-01-01 08:00:00

I fucked up and posted hundreds of blog posts to Twitter all at once

The Difference Between Fact and Trivia

1970-01-01 08:00:00

A weird and annoying conversation I had at university today